Deacon Ministry

Deacons at First Baptist Church are elected and ordained by the church to serve in several ways.  Administratively, deacons provide general oversight of all missions and ministries of the church.  Pastorally, deacons serve as lay ministers to their deacon “families,” assist the pastor with congregational care, preserve church unity, serve communion, pray for the church, and much more.

2017 Deacons

Claire Presley, Chair
Don Joyner, Vice-chair
Pat Byrd, Secretary

Bill Arrington
Jamie Burns
James Early
Austine Evans
Justin Freeman
Nancy Freeman
Bryan Harrell
Charles Hughes
Betty Joyner
Debbie Magette
Scott Outlaw
Jean Parker
Chip Rose
Penny Rose
Edgar (Buzzy) Swain
Jim Wiggins
Lee Wilson
Andy Woodard

Communion Schedule

January 1, 2017  Pass plates
February 5, 2017  Intinction
March 5, 2017  Pass plates
April 2, 2017  Intinction
May 7, 2017   Pass plates
June 4, 2017  Intinction
July 2, 2017  Pass plates
August 6, 2017  Intinction
September 3, 2017  Pass plates
October 1, 2017  Intinction
November 5, 2017  Pass plates
December 3, 2017  Intinction